Qigong » Yi Jin Jing (易筋经)

Health Qigong - Yi Jin Jing (易筋经)

According to Chinese Legend, the Yi Jin Jing Qigong was introduced by Bodhidharma (达摩 Dá Mó c. 527 - Northern Wei Dynasty era) founder of Chan (Zen in Japanese) Buddhism in Shaolin Monastery. Bodhidharma was born in South India and travelled to China via Ocean Trade Route. The exercises were developed based on the movements these animals after spending 9 years living and mediating in caves.

Yi Jin Jin or the Easy "Changing Tendons" Exercise in its current form was described in a classical book in 1650 during the era where loyalist to the Ming dynasty was resisting the early Qing dynasty in southeastern coast.  

In Chinese yi (as in Róng yì 容易) means "easy", jin means "tendons, sinews or veins", while jing means "methods".

Based on traditional Qigong, Yi Jin Jing has 12 movements within this form. It is a Yoga-like exercise which emphasise the movements of turning, bending and extending, pulling and drawing of the muscles, bones and joints, especially those of turning, bending and extending of the spine. These actions are characterised by elegant, natural and smooth movements in good taste, and couples hardness with softness.

Yi JIn Jing

Yi Jin Jing (易筋经)

  1. Wei Tuo Presenting The Pestle One
  2. Wei Tuo Presenting The Pestle Two
  3. Wei Tuo Presenting The Pestle Three
  4. Plucking A Star And Exchanging A Star Cluster
  5. Pulling Nine Cows By Tail
  6. Flexing Paws And Displaying Wings
  7. Nine Ghosts Drawing Swords
  8. Three Plates Falling On The Floor
  9. Black Dragon Displaying Claws
  10. Tiger Springing On Prey
  11. Bowing Down In Salutation
  12. Swinging The Tail

These class of physical activity, referred to by physical activity scientists as Mind Body Exercise (MBE) or meditative movement. It uses a series of easy to learn repeatable physical movements, which requires the interaction of breathing and concentration. It may take years to get the full benefit of Yi Jin Jing:

  1. The first year of training gives back physical and mental vitality.
  2. The second year enhances blood circulation and nurtures meridians.
  3. The third year allows flexibility to muscles and nurtures the organs.
  4. The fourth year improves meridians and nurtures viscera.
  5. The fifth year washes the marrow and nurtures the brain.

There are 3 other sets of practice forms, specifically aimed at health improvement. They are Ba Duan Jin (八段锦), Liu Zi Jue (六字诀), and Wu Qin Xi (五禽戏).

Updated On: 18.09.29